Professional Recognition

Frank Kroboth, MD, received a generous donation to further advance the goals in medical education that he has supported throughout his career. The donation was from an anonymous source and was presented to Dr. Kroboth at the recent Fellows' Interdisciplinary Conference by Patricia Kroboth, PhD, Dean of the School of Pharmacy, and Steven D. Shapiro, MD, Chair of the Department of Medicine.

D. Michael Elnicki, MD, received an award from the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) for chairing the Research in Medical Education (RIME) Planning Committee. The award was presented at the annual AAMC meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

Gary Tabas, MD, presented a workshop at the International Association for Medical Science Educators, held in Salt Lake City, Utah, in July 2008. The workshop focused on virtual patient simulation and was presented with J.B. McGee, MD.

Mark Roberts, MD, MPP, was elected to serve as president of the Society for Medical Decision Making. This organization has more than 1,000 members and is dedicated to improving outcomes in health care through systematic approaches to clinical decision making and policy formation.

Cindy Bryce, PhD, was elected to a 3-year term as trustee of the Society for Medical Decision Making.

Bruce L. Rollman, MD, MPH, was invited to deliver the reunion weekend speech on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of his class's graduation from Jefferson Medical College. The speech was based on Dr. Rollman's New England Journal of Medicine article entitled "Medical Specialty and the Incidence of Divorce" and was delivered at the reunion in Philadelphia in October 2008.

Bea Herbeck Belnap, PhD, presented outcomes data from the Bypassing the Blues Study in a poster presented at the 14th World Congress of Psychiatry, held in October 2008 in Prague, Czech Republic. While in Europe, she also delivered a talk about the Reducing Limitations from Anxiety in Primary Care (RELAX) Study to the Department of Clinical Psychology of Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam, Netherlands. Both studies are headed by Bruce L. Rollman, MD, MPH. The Bypassing the Blues Study was funded by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) and consisted of a clinical trial designed to examine the impact of treating post-coronary artery bypass graft (CABG) depression on a broad variety of clinical outcomes. Dr. Herbeck Belnap's poster was the first public presentation of outcomes data from the study. The RELAX Study is funded by the National Institute of Mental Health and consists of a clinical trial that is being conducted in several locations, including the 9S MUH Clinic and Shea Medical Center. Although recruitment ended in December 2007, the intervention and follow-up assessments will continue until December 2008.

The study written by Ateev Mehrotra, MD, MPH, and entitled "Comparison of Costs and Quality of Care for Three Acute Conditions Managed in Retail Clinics and Other Care Settings" continues to arouse interest, with the results being reported by a number of online media outlets.