Department of Medicine

Department of Medicine

  Division of General Internal Medicine

Division of General Internal Medicine Newsletter

  • GIM News
  • Donna L. Bishop, Editor
  • Next issue:
    December 2016
  • Submission deadline:
    November 18th, 2016
  • E-mail: Donna Bishop

Society of General Internal Medicine Awards

The 2016 Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM) Annual Meeting was held in Hollywood, FL, in May. The Division was heavily represented with more than 60 posters and presentations, as well as an impressive four major award winners. We congratulate everyone for their hard work and dedication. 

Wishwa Kapoor, MD, MPH, received the 2016 Association of Chiefs and Leaders of General Internal Medicine (ACLGIM) Chief's Recognition Award. This highly competitive award is given to the general internal medicine chief who most represents excellence in division leadership. Dr. Kapoor stood out to the judges for his unique approach toward strengthening the Division of General Internal Medicine, as well as his special attention to growth in all areas, particularly faculty development and mentoring.

Melissa McNeil, MD, MPH, received the 2016 SGIM Career Achievement in Medical Education Award, which recognizes an outstanding clinician-educator for lifetime contributions in medical education. Dr. McNeil, who has spent the past 30 years establishing herself as a leader in clinical education and women’s health, has profoundly advanced and impacted medicine and medical education, as well as our entire Division.

Carla Spagnoletti, MD, MS, received the 2016 ACLGIM Leadership Award for demonstrating leadership in several areas of academic medicine, such as clinical, education, and research, during the first 10 years of her career. Dr. Spagnoletti, Director of the Academic Clinician-Educator Scholars Fellowship, has held leadership roles since joining the Division in 2006. In addition, she is a highly sought-after career and research mentor and maintains a busy outpatient practice.

Gary Fischer, MD, and the Division of General Internal Medicine were awarded the SGIM 2016 Quality and Practice Innovation Award, which recognizes general internists and their organization that have successfully developed and implemented innovative role-model systems of practice improvement in ambulatory and/ or clinical practice. Dr. Fischer created the Department of Medicine Quality Council and has helped develop quality measures for the Clinical Quality Incentive Program.