Department of Medicine

University of Pittsburgh

GIM News
Donna L. Bishop, Editor

Next issue:
April 2012

Submission deadline:
March 8, 2012


Professional Recognition


Eric Anish, MD, and Peter Bulova, MD, were recipients of the 2011 Clerkship Preceptor of the Year Award. This award is given by the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine to recognize faculty clinical preceptors who consistently provide outstanding clinical instruction in the clerkship setting for medical students.

Lauren M. Broyles, PhD, RN, received the 2011 Research Award from the International Nurses Society on Addictions (IntNSA). At its annual meeting in September, the IntNSA recognized Dr. Broyles for the important contributions she is making in the field of addictions in general and for addictions nursing science in particular.

Gregory Bump, MD, received the first-ever Richard L. Simmons, MD, Speak Up for Patient Safety Award at UPMC. This new award is to honor individuals who have had the courage to speak up for patient safety or have dedicated much of their career to reducing risk and developing processes to prevent errors. The award was presented during the Loren Roth UPMC Quality and Patient Safety Symposium on October 3, 2011, at Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall.

Gregory Bump, MD, and Harish Jasti, MD, MS, were recipients of the 2011 William I. Cohen Award. Presented by the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, this award recognizes faculty who consistently provide outstanding instruction on clinical skills, including patient-physician communication, for first-year and second-year medical students.

Esa M. Davis, MD, MPH, received the 2011 Junior Scholars Award from the Department of Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh. This award is a competitive award to assist clinical researchers.

Michael J. Fine, MD, MSc, received the 2011 Excellence in Research Award from the VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System in recognition of his contributions and leadership in the fields of health services and health equity research.

Wendy Romeo, BS, the administrative director of the Office of Education, received the Novice Coordinator Award. Samantha Comarnitsky, MPA, the academic support coordinator for the Office of Education, received the Rookie Coordinator Award. These awards were part of the first annual UPMC Graduate Medical Education (GME) Coordinator Awards. The presentations took place during the GME Coordinator Workshop on September 9, 2011.

(Top of Page)


Lauren M. Broyles, PhD, RN, and Adam J. Gordon, MD, MPH, were among 10 representatives invited to join a Department of Veterans Affairs and Department of Defense (VA/DoD) workgroup charged with "toolkit development" for implementation of the VA/DoD Substance Use Disorder Clinical Practice Guidelines. The interdisciplinary group convened to create pocket guides, reference cards, and other tools to support clinician implementation of the guidelines.

Esa M. Davis, MD, MPH, was appointed in August 2011 to a 1-year term on the Institute of Medicine's Committee for the Dissemination and Implementation of Pregnancy Weight Gain Guidelines.

Michael J. Fine, MD, MSc, was appointed co-chair of a new VA Health Equality Workgroup chartered by the Principal Deputy Under Secretary for Health. The workgroup will examine the reasons for inequality in VA health care and provide recommendations to VA senior leaders about how to improve equity in VA health care and outcomes.

Bruce Rollman, MD, was in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in June 2011 at the invitation of the 2nd Heart and Brain Summit sponsored by the Institute of Neurosciences. During his stay in Argentina, Dr. Rollman was a visiting professor at the Favaloro Foundation Hospital and presented data from his trial to treat depression following coronary artery bypass graft surgery.

(Top of Page)