Department of Medicine

University of Pittsburgh

GIM News
Donna L. Bishop, Editor

Next issue:
August 2011

Submission deadline:
June 17, 2011


Professional Recognition


Robert M. Arnold, MD, received a prestigious award from the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM). The Project on Death in America (PDIA) Palliative Medicine National Leadership Award recognizes a physician leader who advances the field of palliative care nationally by educating the next generation of palliative care leaders and promoting a central aim of the PDIA Faculty Scholars' Project, which is to mentor junior leaders. The award program promotes the visibility and prestige of physicians who work in academic and clinical settings and are committed to mentoring future leaders and serving as role models for other health professionals engaged in improving the care of the dying. The award was presented at the AAHPM Annual Assembly held in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, in February 2011.

Julie Childers, MD, MS, received the AAHPM Young Investigator Award for Junior Faculty, in recognition of her scientific paper presentation entitled "Managing Opioid Misuse in Palliative Care Settings: How Prepared Do Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellows Feel?" The award was presented at the AAHPM Annual Assembly held in Vancouver in February 2011.

Gary Fischer, MD, and the General Internal Medicine Oakland Clinic were participants in the Physicians Advancing Health Information Technology to Improve Cardiovascular Care (Cardio-HIT) Project. In this project, a variety of outpatient clinics across the country collaborated to demonstrate the feasibility of reporting quality data from disparate electronic health record systems to a common data repository. Mark Hennessey, MBA, who managed the study data repository, also manages the data warehouse for the Physician Quality Reporting Initiative (PQRI), so the lessons learned have been adopted on the national level. To learn more about the project, click here.

Adam Gordon, MD, MPH, and Lauren Broyles, PhD, RN, were among ten representatives invited to participate in a Department of Veterans Affairs and Department of Defense (VA/DoD) workgroup charged with "toolkit development" for implementation of the VA/DoD Substance Use Disorder Clinical Practice Guidelines. The interdisciplinary workgroup convened in Washington, DC, to create pocket guides, reference cards, and other tools to help clinicians implement the current guidelines.

(Top of Page)

Fellows and Residents

General internal medicine fellows Briar Duffy, MD, Brian Heist, MD, Anuradha Munshi, MD, and John Ragsdale, MD, were selected on a competitive basis to attend the 2011 Course in Scientific Management and Leadership. The 3-day course, to be held in May at the Herberman Conference Center, is for postdoctoral fellows, clinical fellows, and junior faculty members in the schools of the health sciences. It is designed to provide insight into leadership and team building as well as direction on how to develop and manage a scientific laboratory or research program, how to improve productivity, and how to enhance creativity and innovation in a research or classroom environment.

Andres Gelrud, MD, and Salman Nusrat, MD, received the Thomas H. Nimick Jr. Competitive Research Award for their study entitled "Opioid-Induced Hyperalgesia in Patients with Chronic Pancreatitis." The Competitive Research Fund is sponsored by the Shadyside Hospital Foundation and is for clinical research projects carried out at UPMC Shadyside Hospital. Members of the medical or nursing staff, residents and fellows with appropriate mentoring, pharmacists, allied health professionals, and others involved in patient care are welcome to apply for grants from this fund. The scope of research can be broad but generally will be concerned with projects leading to improved patient care and more efficient delivery of care.

The Pittsburgh chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP) recognized two members of the housestaff at UPMC Shadyside during the November 2010 meeting. Shreyas Saligram, MD, and Pritesh Mutha, MD, along with Sally Parry, MRCP, received first prize for their poster entitled "Role of the Hydrogen Breath Test in the Treatment of Small Bowel Bacterial Overgrowth." They have been invited to give an oral presentation at the National Meeting of the American College of Physicians in San Diego, California, in April 2011.

(Top of Page)